Beware the TradeMark Scam
I received two of these letters this past week and was shocked to receive bills I wasn’t expecting. They were for my trademarks and I couldn’t recall having to pay bills of that size before. It worried me and was unplanned/unexpected.
Needless to say, research online shows that there are warnings about these letters which are not official. Below is a link from a legal organisation and the other is ‘hidden’ information I found on the website of the organisation that sent the letters. I say ‘hidden’ because that page is not linked in their menus and not visible on the site – I only found it through a Google search.
http://www.holdingredlich.com.au/urgent-alert-warning-to-trade-mark-owners
This information is on the Trademark Publisher website but is a hidden page in that it’s not listed on their menu.
INFORMATION ABOUT TRADEMARK PUBLISHER (TMP) – DATABASE SERVICE:
THE TMP WEBSITE WWW.TRADEMARKPUBLISHER.INFO DISPLAYS THE TRADEMARK, THE NAME OF THE TRADEMARK OWNER, THE NAME OF THE ASSOCIATED BRAND AND PRODUCT/SERVICE ON THE INTERNET. IT IS ONLY AVILAIBLE TO PAID, REGISTERED TRADE NAMES AND DESIGNS WITH THEIR IP AUSTRALIA REGISTRATION NUMBERS AND CLASSES. PUBLICATION ON THE TMP INFO REGISTER PROVIDES WORLDWIDE PUBLICATION ON THE INTERNET. THIS PUBLICATION IS AN ELECTIVE SERVICE AND DOES NOT SUBSTITUTE FOR REGISTRATION, NOR DOES IT PROLONG THE VALIDITY OF YOUR TRADEMARK REGISTRATION WITH IP AUSTRALIA.

Hi Kathie
I got one of these this week too. I smelled a rat, but thanks for your warning email & happy to see this post ranking on Google.
I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks,
A definite great read..